

Alameda Local Agency Formation Commission

NOTICE OF COMMISSION VACANCY ALTERNATE PUBLIC MEMBER

The Alameda Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) is accepting applications for the **Alternate Public Member** seat. The deadline for filing an application is **Friday, March 3, 2023 at 5:00 p.m**. The Commission will review each application and supplemental questionnaire and expects to conduct interviews the week of March 27, 2023.

LAFCO is responsible for coordinating logical and timely changes in local governmental boundaries, conducting special studies that review ways to reorganize, simplify and streamline governmental structure, and establishing planning spheres of influence (SOIs) for each city and special district within the County.

Local Agency Formation Commissions have three primary objectives:

- Encourage the orderly growth of local government agencies
- Preserve agricultural and open space land resources
- Discouarge urban sprawl

Alameda LAFCO's public members represent all Alameda County citizens in an objective and impartial manner and carry out the Commission's objectives. The Alternate Commissioner fully participates in discussions and deliberations, but can only vote when the regular public member is absent or disqualified. The Alternate Public Member mus be a resident of Alameda County. He/she/they cannot be a current board or council member, officer, or employee of the County of Alameda, a City, or a Special District in Alameda County.

Commission meetings are typically held on the second Thursday of every odd month (January, March, May, July, September and November) at 2:00 p.m. in Dublin. The appointment term is 4 years. Commissioners receive \$125 stipends per meeting.

If you have questions or would like a copy of the application mailed to you please contact LAFCO Executive Officer, Rachel Jones, at 510.670.6267 or <u>rachel.jones@acgov.org</u>, or Commission Clerk, April Raffel, at 510.670.6265 or <u>april.raffel@acgov.org</u>.

Administrative Office

Rachel Jones, Executive Officer 224 West Winton Avenue, Suite 110 Hayward, California 94544 T: 510.670.6267 www.alamedalafco.org Nate Miley, Regular County of Alameda

David Haubert, Regular

County of Alameda

Vacant, Alternate County of Alameda
 Karla Brown, Regular
 Ralph Johnson, Regular

 City of Pleasanton
 Castro Valley Sanitary D

Vacant, Regular Special District Member

 Ralph Johnson, Regular
 Sblend Sblendorio, Chair

 Castro Valley Sanitary District
 Public Member

Vacant, Alternate

Public Member

Melissa Hernandez, Regular City of Dublin

John Marchand, Alternate City of Livermore Georgean Vonheeder-Leopold, Alternate Dublin San Ramon Services District